cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Passing a true boolean only once from a loop

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to LabView and have been working on a project that uses it. I've run into a problem in part of my code. I have a wave form graph that is reading voltages from a DAQ card and I'm finding the rising edge of it. When the rinsing edge occurs it produces a true boolean that I pass to a case structure to trigger another event. The problem is the waveform data collection is in a while loop, because I think it has to be to keep collecting data, so it continuously sends true booleans until it is no longer on the rising edge. I want it to just send one true boolean when it hits the rising edge and then wait until it hits it again because its a sine wave.

I apologize that I don't have code to post right now, but any thoughts or diagrams would be much appreciated!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(5,458 Views)

This is essentially how I'm collecting my data. Except I also have some logic in the loop to find the rising edge and output a true boolean.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(5,455 Views)

Rising Edge

This should be made into a subvi with execution set to reentrant execution. This uses a shift register to pass the previous iteration value of the Boolean so you can detect the rising edge. The shift register is a key way of saving data in Labview.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(5,425 Views)

I'm not sure if I understand what it does, or where I should wire it

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(5,418 Views)

You need to take some basic Labview Courses. This is a pretty simple cut and paste into your code. The Boolean connects to your Boolean and the rising edge connects to your case structure. Do you know how to create a subvi?

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 8
(5,412 Views)