cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PID VI output looks like On/Off signal

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I am new to PID applications, and am currently starting a project involving PID control of an indoor air heater. I ran into some problems and I will really appreciate any suggestions here Smiley Happy

The setup consists of a cDAQ-9174 with a RTD module (e.g. NI-9217) and a current output module (NI-9265). The process variable is the temperature incoming that is read from the RTD, and the current output module sends the PID output of 4-20mA to the heater block, 4mA is equivalent to heater off, and anything above that will turn the heater on to different levels accordingly. 

I found an example program on the NI website which I modified to suit my setup. PID loop rate is 10Hz, and for this I used software timing (please see the attached VI). The output range for the PID VI is set to 4-20mA. 

Upon running the program, we can see the RTD working well (process variable is updating correctly), but the output signal from the PID VI varies between the two extremes (either 4mA or 20mA), which seemingly turned into an On/Off model instead of PID (please see the screenshot "On-off MV.jpg" attached). This resulted in the system oscillating in an undesired manner.

I have looked at the example programs in LabVIEW itself, ran some of them and they seem to work fine. I have also looked at their block diagrams, and apart from a different output range setting (default is -100 to 100), I can't see any important differences for other parameters to the PID VI. 

Was there anything that I have set incorrectly, or was there something I missed out? All help will be greatly appreciated... Thanks!!

Best regards,

Victor

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(4,704 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author VLg