From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Odd integer search

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm new to LabVIEW and am having difficulty with one of the problems from CH.2 of hands on introduction to LabVIEW.  The problem states:

The odd integers are given by 2i + 1, where i = 0, 1, 2 ...  Write a program that answers the following question: What is the smallest odd integer that is divisible by 3 and also, when cubed, yields a value greater than 4000?  Display the answer to this question in a front pannel Numeric Indicator.

I have my front and block diagram attached.  I believe I have the beginning and end parts of the code correct, I'm confused how to tackle the part where it must be odd and divisible by 3.  Any ideas?  Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(6,247 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author dagabeo7

An odd interger that is divisible by 3 is an odd multiple of 3, so replace your Q&R with a multiplication by 3, then test cube value of it. See how far you get.

Also make sure to wire the numeric indicator to the value going into the cubing, the value of [i] is not iteresting.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(6,236 Views)

Thank you that helped.  There was suggested icons such as the Q&R, Power of X, and And.  I'm still not sure how to incorporate the Q&R and And, but I'm sure i'll figure it out soon  

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(6,096 Views)

@dagabeo7 wrote:

Thank you that helped.  There was suggested icons such as the Q&R, Power of X, and And.  I'm still not sure how to incorporate the Q&R and And, but I'm sure i'll figure it out soon  

Well, the use of Q&R would complicate the code and it simply leads to another algorithm. Do you really have to use it?