LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

OS updates for production test platforms

This is not a LabVIEW question as it is a general test software question. I work in the aerospace industry where the production lifetime of a part can be 20 years or longer. Many production test sets in my lab use old PCs with old OS versions. These test sets use standard GPIB communication with standard instruments like power supplies, DMMs, etc. So there is no need to support old custom hardware with old drivers. The old PCs cannot use new tools like TortoiseSVN or newer versions of LabVIEW or TestStand. They also have a lot of trouble with networking. Some do not even have USB ports so you must use 3.5" floppies.

My question is this: should production test sets use the same standard PCs that are used in the office, and updated every three years, or is it better to let the system stay static forever? In the short term, you save time migrating the old software to a new PC or OS. In the long term you create a support nightmare with multiple versions of ancient OS. Is there a rule of thumb as to which way to go?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,359 Views)

@joshxdr wrote:

This is not a LabVIEW question as it is a general test software question. I work in the aerospace industry where the production lifetime of a part can be 20 years or longer. Many production test sets in my lab use old PCs with old OS versions. These test sets use standard GPIB communication with standard instruments like power supplies, DMMs, etc. So there is no need to support old custom hardware with old drivers. The old PCs cannot use new tools like TortoiseSVN or newer versions of LabVIEW or TestStand. They also have a lot of trouble with networking. Some do not even have USB ports so you must use 3.5" floppies.