LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to NI cRIO 9076

Hello everyone!

i am completely new to interfacing NI modules with labview. i interfaced cRIO 9076 through ethernet, installed all the softwares (NI RIO, NI RT etc). it is getting detected in NI MAX. but  all it shows is "cRIO is in safe mode( no softwares installed)" and status LED blinks two times indicating trouble with software. 

how do i configure the device. what are the things to be done to use cRIO.?

PS:i also have gone through the getting started guide from this link
http://www.ni.com/gettingstarted/setuphardware/compactrio/

Thank you!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,495 Views)

Hi Vishal,

you have to install software on the cRIO as well as on the PC!

Open MAX, navigate to your cRIO and expand the "Software" tree… (This is written in the manual that comes with your cRIO too!)

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 11
(3,461 Views)

thanks for your reply GerdW. i have installed cRIO in my PC. now MAX shows up 9076 and moreover the  status LED is also acting fine . the problem is it still doesnt detect the modules i have attached to the cRIO. what should i do? 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(3,454 Views)

Hi Vishal,

the modules aren't detected by MAX.

You have to open a new LabVIEW project, include the cRIO in the project and then you can detect/configure any modules of the cRIO…

Best regards,
GerdW

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(3,443 Views)

when i try to add devices in "add targets or devices window" it shows me only 9076 in real time cRIO. it doesnt show me the hierarchy of devices connected to it. 

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 11
(3,438 Views)

Hi Vishal,

once you have added the cRIO to the project you can configure the modules of the cRIO. It's a right-click menu entry for the cRIO entry in a LV project…

See the cRIO manual page 7!

Best regards,
GerdW

0 Kudos
Message 6 of 11
(3,433 Views)