LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to LabVIEW - Need help with a project at work having to do with an absolute rotary encoder

I am currently working with the evaluation version of labVIEW to provide a proof of purchase for the project I am working on. I have very little experience with LabVIEW, so I apologize for my code being terrible. Let me see if I can explain what I am trying to accomplish:

The Hardware:

To begin, I have a BEI H25 rotary encoder (http://www.beisensors.com/pdfs/h25-optical-absolute-encoder.pdf) that outputs a 0-10 VDC analog signal. The encoder outputs the signal during one rotation, 0 degrees corresponding to 0 V and 360 degrees to 10V. When the encoder rotates past 360 degrees (or 10V) it immediately drops back to 0 V. I am inputting this voltage signal into labview using the analog inputs on an NI-USB-6009 DAQ.

What I am trying to accomplish:

I have a pretty simple task that I am trying to accomplish. I want to be able to turn the shaft of the encoder one direction, have labVIEW log how long it took from start to finish (time) and how many degrees the shaft rotated. Then, I need to rotate the shaft in reverse and also measure the time that took and how many degrees the shaft rotated back. I need LabVIEW to put the time and degrees for the first and second rotations into a table on the front panel and into an excel file.

My Current LabVIEW Code: In Order

1. The DAQ Assistant receives the signal continuously from the encoder.

2. The signal runs through a filter VI to reduce noise

3. The signal is multiplied by 36 (to match 0-360 degrees) and offset by -0.12

4. The signal enters an "Amplitude and Level Measurements VI" to measure the mean amplitude of the signal.