LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New controls not available in Read/Write Control when I change FPGA Main.vi

Hello everyone,

So, I'm new to Labview, and I'm trying to get my research project working.  I've started my Labview project with a built-in example that reads in some analog values on my Crio's FPGA, sends them to the RT Main vi using the Read/Write Control, and does some calculations.  That all works fine; the problem is that if I attempt to add more inputs on the FPGA I can't select them from the Read/Write control block, even though these controls are visible on the FPGA Main.vi front panel and work correctly there.  I've tried recompiling everything, but I can't seem to get the Read/Write Control block to update.  What am I doing wrong?

Thanks,

Michael

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,945 Views)

By recompiling, I'll assume you mean that you've rebuilt the bit file of the FPGA.

Make sure wherever you open the FPGA Bit file reference in your host VI, that you are referencing the correct bit file.  Perhaps it is still referencing an old version or a different named file that did not include the new controls.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,937 Views)

Yes, that's what I've done.  I have my FPGA.vi file as the input to the "Open FPGA VI Reference" block, not a bit file.  If I try and select a bitfile I get an error, actually; it says there's a bad wire even though no red X symbols show up on the block diagram.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(3,927 Views)

1. I would recommend trying to do your calculations inside of the FPGA, especially if they are simple ones.

2. It would help us diagnose your issue if you posted some code.  In this situation, the project and all of the VIs would be needed (put them all in a zip file).

3. Are your Read/Write Control inside of a subVI?  If so, you will need to make sure you update all of the FPGA reference controls to have the updated interface.

GCentral