From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help setting up labview to work with oracle

Hello,

I am a newbie in both Oracle and Labview and I need step-by-step instructions on how to properly configure a connection.

I have looked at the Labview Database Toolkit manual but, since I am a beginner, did not help me too much.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(5,708 Views)

It's been a while since I did this, but hopefully this will help you get started.  These are the steps I used to connect to oracle.  First, I'm assuming you’re using Windows.  If so, you need to go to the control panel, then select Administrative Tools.  Then you need to select Data Source (ODBC).  This will pop open an ODBC Data Source Administrator window.  Under the Drivers tab you need to verify you have the Microsoft ODBC for Oracle drivers installed on your system.  If not, you need to get these drivers installed. 

Then under the System DSN you need to "add" a system data source.  You need to give it a name, description if you like, user name that has access to the db, and the server where the db is located.  Click OK and then OK again to close the administrator window.