From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Help - 2D Array Length Error and Removing Header Row

Solved!
Go to solution

I have searched the LabView Forums as well as done a general search of NI documentation, but can't find anything that directly addresses my problem(s). I am relatively new to LabView, but have been programming on a large LV project for about 7 months now, so I'm not a rank beginner. I have experience in programming in text-based languages, but I get stumped by LabView again and again over things like this, which is very frustrating.

My current issue -- I am reading an external file in spreadsheet format with Read From SpreadSheet File. The first row in the resulting 2D array is the headers for the columns. I need this header row in other contexts (reports, tables), but I don't need the header row for a particular context. I just need the values from the file.

I have tried removing the header row, but Delete from Array at index 0 doesn't seem to work as I expected and the examples of working with 2D arrays on the Forums doesn't address my issue. Or at least I don't see an easy solution based on the threads I read.  I tried getting the length of the array before removal, to compare with after, but ran into a new and different issue. I wired up an Array Size to try to get the length of the 2D array, but got an error, even though I followed (I thought) the examples I found in the documentation and even though the Error List says my source and sink have identical datatypes.

My company's policies prevent me from uploading any actual code, but I've provided a PNG snippet of the code where the problem occurs. 

Can anyone provide a solution?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,176 Views)