Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

.NET error 1172

Solved!
Go to solution

Warning: LabVIEW Beginner here

Problem Description :
-I'm using equipment which has a DLL which I would like to access with LV2009SP1
-The DLL works with .NET V3.5
-I'm using Windows 7 with .NET V4.0 and V3.5 installed, recently updated
-I'm receiving Error 1172, the .NET Exception, and cannot initialize commands
(I can't seem to get a RefNum for the device)

-I've tried pointing the constructor to the dll several times
-The code is relatively simple, and is attached
-Image also attached with the simple part of the code that's tripping the error

Note:  I've communicated successfully with the device before with the same LV version and OS, but after moving and updating the DLL I'm having this issue.

Thanks for anyone's time, help, and patience!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,096 Views)
Is this error occuring on the first iteration of the loop? Are you sure that you are using the DLL correctly? Have you talked to the vendor?

Mike...

Certified Professional Instructor
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion

"... after all, He's not a tame lion..."

For help with grief and grieving.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(5,074 Views)
Is this a subVI, or the top level? If it's top level (the VI on which you hit the run arrow) then you need a .NET constructor for the class, instead of the class refnum control. That gets you an actual instantiation of the class, rather than a control of the appropriate reference type that doesn't refer to anything. The one exception is a static class, in which case you still don't need the class refnum control (and you also don't need a constructor).
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(5,072 Views)

Replying to both NATHAND and MIKEPORTER, (thank you both so much for your input)

MIKEPORTER,

Please see attached.