LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multiple serial ports streaming - BSOD/freezes - Hardware or Software problem?

Hello all,

I just joined the forums as I'm in dire need of some help with LV. I'm trying to hook up three lasers for an experiment. These are connected to my laptop via seperate RS232 cables with an adapter each to a COM port. I found an LV example that reads in one laser from the manufacturers site (something with .dll files and a C++ library). I'm a beginner with LV and I can't really say I have experience, especially not with custom libraries, so I just tried to make it work somehow. So what I did was basically copy it three times and reconnected some wires and changed the output format. I've added my program to this post; warning, you might get slightly sick by looking at it.

Anyway, my main problem is; it works, but only for a limited time. After some time the VI will crash or my laptop will BSOD. Now, since my VI isn't very professional and probably has a very bad structure I'm not sure whether this is a problem with the VI or with the RS232 adapters/USB hub. I read some things on faulty RS232 adapters that conflict, but I can also imagine my VI can't deal with three data streams correctly, so I'm not sure where this is coming from.

I was hoping that if any of you would take a glance at my VI, you could tell me whether it's my VI or not. I'd rather confirm this before I buy three new RS232 adapters.

P.S. I'm running this on LV 2011 and LV 8.2.1 (my laptop with 2011 only recognises 2 COM ports simultaenously and my other laptop with 8.2.1 all three, but my laptop with 2011 can handle the crashes better)

Thanks!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,844 Views)

I have had lots of issues using USB to Serial adaptors in general they are all crap but I have found that adaptors that use the FTDI chipset seem slightly better than the ones that use the Prolific chipset.