From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Motor Control

So I am currently in a 5 week LabVIEW course and we have to come up with a small project we can do using LabVIEW.  I am rather new to the program but have a little experience creating small VI's.  I came up with an idea that my prof has OKed but I am not even sure where to start or if this is even the right place to ask.  Anyways...

I want to build a 4 prop helicopter that I can control via LabVIEW.  I really only need to make it take off and land but am willing to put some work into it so the heli can do more.  I have come up with what I think will give me some basic control.  I was thinking all I would really need is Yaw Pitch and the overall RPM.  I would like to take this in baby steps.  First just control the RPM of the motor etc.  I know if I ever want it to fly without nose-diving, I am going to need a gyroscope.  I have a DC motor model GSK-804.  It has a motor speed control circuit.  I was thinking about using a square wave generator from LabVIEW and I've found it in the program but don't know how it works. 

I was thinking that I'd give it whatever command, which then goes through the gyroscope somehow before going to the motors so the gyro has time(?) to correct itself. 

This post is probably super disorganized but I just tried to get everything I was thinking out there so I could be corrected if I am doing something stupid (chances are, I am)  I have never really built anything like this before and would be forever grateful for someone to point me in the right direction.  Also if you need anymore info, let me know.

Thanks!

Ben

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,538 Views)