LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Monitor multiple devices on 232 bus

Hello All, Newbie here don't be too cruel. I need to be able to monitor different operational parameters from multiple (16 and growing) devices (Edwards Vacuum Pump XDS 6i) on a serial 232 bus. I have successfully created a VI that will send the correct Control functions and monitor the the different states (Temp, Amp draw, Maintenance hours, etc) to a pump with a specific address. However, the monitor function only works when only one pump is connected. The control functions (Start/Stop, Standby, AutoStart, etc) are fine. The monitor display only contains miscellaneous symbols @#*^%$#! in some of the different parameter read when 2 or more pumps are connected. I've attached the VI. Side note. I would also like to  be able to send some of the monitor parameters to an Excel file for a history.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(4,054 Views)

It's not exactly the same, but this article shows connecting multiple serial devices.  Does that help?

http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/0A12C1142461275A86256FC0001D932E

Also, I would suggest that at this point in your coding, you should definitely look into writing yourself some subVIs.  Especially if you are going to be expanding beyond the two devices you have now:

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/7593/en/

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(4,047 Views)

Let me add to that, you're controlling two devices with one COM input reference, don't you get a second reference when you plug in the second device?  If so, you need to give that one to your second loop.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(4,039 Views)

Each device has has it's own address that is in the command string to get the results, Example #01:01?V809 gets the amp draw for pump 1, where #02:02?V809 gets the amp draw in pump 2. These commands are in different loops.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 13
(4,026 Views)

@StrongBad469 wrote: