cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modbus error 6010 Exception code: 10

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello to all,

I need help with the modbus library, I just downloaded it and since I am not an expert at modbus I'm having some troubles using it. Basically what I want to do right now is to read two input registers of a slave device (address 1006 and 1007); using MB Ethernet Master Query Read Holding Registers (poly).vi. All I get is an error 6010 MODBUS Exception code: 10. I saw the MB Ethernet Example Master.vi to compare it with mine and see if I was missing something but I haven't been able to solve the problem.

I am putting a screenshot of the block diagram.

Please someone tell me what I am missing!

image.JPG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(5,208 Views)

I don't see the cluster for MBAP header wired into the top of your Modbus VI.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(5,203 Views)

I didn't put it since I'm not sure what to put on it, and in the detailed help says that is additional info not usually required. So I left it unwired. Also in the MB Ethernet Example Master.vi that input was unwired.

Where do I get the info for that cluster?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(5,197 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author rd.mcdt

I've only done serial modbus, not ethernet modbus, so I can't be sure.  But with serial modbus, you definitely have to define the slave address.  That cluster has a "client ID" which seems to be that it should be equivalent to a slave address.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(5,193 Views)

The indicator says Holding registers but I made a mistake at naming that indicator.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 8
(5,189 Views)

Googling exception 10 gave me this.