LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Memory leak... Help!

I've been getting thrashed by this application for a couple of weeks now.  Tried different computers, reformats, changing the reentrancy of subvi's, all to no avail.

I had been running this on an XP dell with 1gb RAM and it ran out of memory rather quickly (10 hours or so).  I reconfigured the system with a fresh install and 4gb RAM and it's been running 24h now, but when initially started there was around 29mb memory usage, and now it's up to 1.3gb.  Obviously something not being done right here.  I've got no experience with tracing things like that, so any help is appreciated.

The only difference in this application from other applications I've run successfully for literally months on end is the acquisition of load cell data which I'm attempting to normalize via averaging in basicaveragesub.vi.

I've zipped the entire project and attached.  It's pretty small and simple.  I'm sure it's probably something basic that I'm missing since I'm a self taught hack.  Thanks in advance.

(3,395 Views)

Please try to disregard the myriad Error indicators - Those were a last ditch attempt at capturing any internal error that might have been causing earlier issues.  They'll all be gone in the final iteration.

As a result of troubleshooting, some of the wiring got a bit uglier.

(3,387 Views)

Any particular reason you're using DAQ Assistants? I was under the impression that the Assistants have poor performance compared to using a string of DAQmx Task based VIs. I can't run this VI but it looks like it would be a prime candidate for a Producer-Consumer architecture and using a queue should at least give you more options for memory management.

Also LabVIEW has some built in performance monitoring tools that could help track down your issue:

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/3576/en/

Xander Cesari
Automotive/Internal Combustion Test Engineer