From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Match True/False String help

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello All,

I am fairly new to LabVIEW. I am using LabVIEW 2013 and I am doing some communication with an ABB robot. I am receiving strings from the robot controller in LV via sockets. What I am trying to do, is if the string says "FALSE", LV turns a boolean operator to False, and if the string says "TRUE", LV changes the boolean operator to True. I am using the "Match True/False String" Function to do this. For some reason I am having problems getting that function set up correctly. This is how I have it currently:

True_False String.JPG

Is there something I am doing wrong by tying all the nodes into the same string?

Thanks for any help!

SM

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(6,280 Views)

My recommendation would be to simplify:

string check.png

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(6,263 Views)

Will doing it that way turn the boolean to false if the string says "FALSE"?

Thanks,

SM

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(6,260 Views)

Edit

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 15
(6,257 Views)

It's "Equals?", on the Comparison palette. Simply returns TRUE if the inputs are equal, or FALSE otherwise.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 15
(6,253 Views)

Ok thanks.

Another question, once the boolean is true, I want it to stay true for 5 seconds and then go back to false. What's the best way to do that?

Thanks,

SM

0 Kudos
Message 6 of 15
(6,243 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Sman29

In like to use "Match Pattern" when comparing strings received from instruments. That way if there is some white space before or after (like a carriage return/line feed), it will still match the TRUE case.

STR_Compare.png

0 Kudos
Message 7 of 15
(6,236 Views)