cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Master/Slave Event Structure vs. State Machine

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

First some background to the question (Skip this paragraph if you are just interested in the question). I'm fairly new to Labview, having done LabVIEW Core 1, and just a couple of months coding with Labview. Being one of the only people in the company who now knows Labview I have been challenged with creating a relatively complex application that will run a chosen ten or so different tests with customisable options, display readouts, analyse and give results and automate reports.

For the application I am writing I require a GUI with multiple screens (I am achieving this with tabs), at first I tried to code this with event structures inside a state machine (but as you probably know this was fundamentally flawed, as you cannot put event structures inside either case structures, or event structures), but since this point I have spent several hours researching the best alternatives.

My Question therefore is this: would you recommend using a Master/Slave setup (with the event structure and state machine respectively), or just use a continually polling state machine?

(Bear in mind I will be using this as part of a larger Producer/Consumer setup.)

Thanks in Advance,

Joshua Walker.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,660 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author JoshuaWalker

I use a case in my state machine specifically for checking for GUI events.  This is usually an "Idle" state or a specific "Check for Events" state.  I can also set the timeout programatically using a shift register just in case I need it to do a quick check (some small timeout) or to wait for a user to push a button (timeout is -1).

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines