cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Making a AO signal rise over time

Solved!
Go to solution

Greetings,
I'm new to LabView and trying to make some simple programs.
I want a voltage signal to rise from 0 - 5 V in 20sec.
For my first program I added a slider and connected that to the DAQ Assistant so that I could manually control the voltage between 0 and 5V.
Could anyone help me with this problem?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,646 Views)

You can use the Ramp Pattern function to create your array and then pass it into a for loop with your DAQmx Write and delay inside. The for loop will autoindex the array and the DAQmx Write will output each voltage, step by step each iteration and the delay will determine the time between steps.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(2,640 Views)

I would make a ramp pattern (Ramp Pattern VI under Signal Processing->Signal Generation) and then feed that into an analog output.  If you don't care about exact timing, just use a FOR loop to write your individual samples at whatever rate you choose.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(2,638 Views)

Part of it already works, thanks!
But I don't quite understand the sample thing. The standard "samples" of is 128.
I want the signal to rise from 0 to 5v in 20sec. What variable should I change then?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(2,629 Views)

That's pretty basic arithmetic. The number of samples is your step size. The time it takes to do the entire ramp is number of samples times the delay at each step. Change one or both.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 9
(2,625 Views)

Sorry but I still don't quite understand.
I understand that changing the samples also changes the time needed. But how do I know how much time corresponds with 1 sample?