From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MGC 647C MKS Intruments <--> Computer Communication

Dear All,

I am new in the world of LabView and electronic communications. For my research work I am using Multi Gas Controller 647C of MKS Intruments. Following things I have done and trying to obtain data from the display of MGC to computer. But I am unable to. 😞

1. I have 2 MF1s, 1 MF meter and 647C. I have connected the cables from MF1s to 647C. They are showing flow values, units etc.

2. I have port for RS232 on controller. I have connected RS232 to my computer (COM1).

3. I have downloaded MGC 647C LabView drivers from following link. I have LabViwe 8.5. I have incorporated the zip file in LabView Pellet Library and am able to see it in the pellet menu in blockdiagram window.

http://sine.ni.com/apps/utf8/niid_web_display.model_page?p_model_id=4736

4. I have just basic idea of LabView. I have been watching online tutorials of DAQ and simple programming in LabView but its not helping me to excute what I am looking for.

I would sincerely appreaciate someones help.

Thanks a lot in advance. 🙂

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,572 Views)
Serial communication has nothing to do with DAQ. At the main instrument control page, there are links to tutorials.http://www.ni.com/downloads/instrument-drivers/
I would also suggest you use a program such as hyperterminal, putty, etc, to get familiar with the communication. Search for basic rs-232 tutorials to gain familiarity with the protocol (parity, data bits, etc.).
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,564 Views)

I agree with Dennis_Knutson. For better understanding how the rs232 communication works you can read this => http://www.ni.com/white-paper/3450/en/#toc5

0 Kudos