cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Loading and running consecutive scripts in LabVIEW

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, 

I'd like to start this by saying that I'm very new to LabVIEW so I apologize for any questions that should seem obvious. Also, when replying please remember I'm not as familiar as I would like to be with LabVIEW in general. I have recently had a problem put on my desk to add some functionality to a preexiting, fairly complex VI. The solution seems to be in scripting. However, loading a script longer than 55 lines gives an error (Is this normal? Is there a way around it?). The problem is pretty easy to break up into small parts, so the script has been broken up into multiple smaller parts that provide the same function when ran consecutively. After executing each script, the system will take some time to process (up to 300ms, IIRC) and will assert a ready bit when complete. Using that ready signal as a trigger, I would like to execute the next script.

The scripts are being read correctly into the program using "niHSDIO Write Script.vi", and can be selected by hard-coding the 'script name' into "niHSDIO Configure Script To Generate.vi". It will successfully execute any of the scripts when hard-coded, but when trying to call the next script (script names stored in an array, and incremented with a while loop) an error is given:

Error - 1074118651 occurred at niHSDIO Write
Script.vi

Possible reason(s):
Driver Status: (Hex 0xBFFA4005) You cannot perform this
action while the session is in the running state. 

At this point, I've read quite a bit online and in the documentation about trying to find a way to suspend, pause, etc. the state to allow another script to load, but I haven't been able to figure it out.