LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Load Cell Configuration Issues

I have an issue configuring a Lebow load cell.  I have read as much NI documentation that I can find but it is not operating properly.  I have an SCC-SG24 installed in a SCC 68 box.  I have configured MAX to use the SG24 Strain Gauge Module.  My primary problem is that when there is no load on the Lebow Load Cell the measurement will float constantly upward and will not level off.  The documentation seems to contradict itself by saying it operates in differential mode but only RSE is available.  Also, I am getting a negative deflection even though I have everything wired correctly.  I am using the load cell with NI’s example program Aqu Wheatstone Bridge Samples (With Calibration).vi

I am new to the world of load cells so some help would be appreciated!  See attached document for images of problem.

Matthew Fitzsimons

Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW 6.1 ... 2013, LVOOP, GOOP, TestStand, DAQ, and Vison
Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(4,801 Views)
Most load cells like this I have used are already conditioned, so you don't need the SG24.  The ones I have used in the past will have 4 or 5 wires.  Power +/-, Output +/- and possibly a ground.  You power the unit on the Power +/- with 10V (whatever the manf. spec), and you meas on the output +/-.  You may need to do some conditioning for the small signals, you may not.  There was no wiring notes in the spec sheet you posted.  Do you have that info?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(4,770 Views)

Matthew,