LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linux Installation- I can't find the required install script

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm trying to follow the LabVIEW installation guide for Linux, but I am having trouble. This post will be kind of long, as I will try to tell you everything I have done so far. I'm also kind of new to Linux, so I'm sure there are many things I don't know.

I'm trying to use http://www.ni.com/pdf/manuals/374718a.html#installing

and http://www.ni.com/pdf/manuals/375845d.pdf

Step one from the guide is to insert the "installation media" and run

#sh ./INSTALL

and that's easy enough. Or at least it would be if I had any idea where this sh file is. I requested a copy of the install disks from my university (I'm installing on one of their computers), and they said that while they don't have any Linux install disks, they were pretty sure "it is on there somewhere," whatever that means. That seems to be about the extent of their knowledge regarding linux.

On this disk is a folder named slcp10 with contents slcp10.cab, slcp10.mis, and slcp200_mft.cab, all of which are windows files and as far as I can tell impossible to run on linux unless I'm using WINE, which is clearly not the way to go.

I also have a few ISOs from the site licensing department, but likewise no one seems to know anything about installing on linux. After mounting these ISOs I see that they contain the folders Bin, Common, Distributions, Licenses, and Readme (which is full of all kinds of irrelevant stuff). They also contain the files academicsitelicense.html, asladminresource.html, autorun.exe, autorun.inf, nisuite.xml, patents.txt, readme_core.html, setup.ede, and suite_md5_1.xml, none of which seem promising. Again, I only know how to install .exe files using WINE.