From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lean way to execute shutdown code when the top level VI ends

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi folks-

I'm a LV newbie with 30 years of embedded SW engineering experience.  I've been researching how to execute shutdown code when a top level VI ends.  I've found numerous examples but all of them are horrendously complicated.  My gut tells me that such a simple design pattern shouldn't be so compilicated.

My app is a high voltage control app that needs to disable all HV control points when the SW ends.  My VI code is running in a while loop with a stop button that causes loop exit.  I can easily accomplish my requirement programmatically with a flat sequence that executes after the main loop ends.  The flat sequence technique doesn't work when the user clicks on the abort button from the Front Panel tool bar nor does it work when the user clicks the application shutdown button (the X button) when running the app as an exe.

Can somebody please point me to a simple technique and example code that can show me a lean and elegant way to accomplish my task?  It doesn't have to be an obvious solution (for example a watchdog induced shutdown seems simple enough).

Thanks - John Speth

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(6,010 Views)

You could use a statemachine architecture that, upon clicking the stop button, calls a shutdown state to clean up all of your references, etc.  Without seeing your existing architecture, it's difficult to recommend something that would work for sure.  I really like using the JKI statemachine because it already has code for starting up and shutting down an app, whether a VI running in development mode, or an EXE on the end user machine. 

aputman