LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Leaking Handles When Calling C API Via "Call Library Function" (example attached)

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi All,

Thanks for any support you can give. I am a pretty good C programmer and a mediocre LabVIEW programmer so keep that in mind. I have created a simple VI and C API to demonstrate the issue (all source included, built with Visual Studio 2005)

I am wrapping a C API DLL with LabVIEW as you can probably guess. There is a tricky portion of the C API that requires some pointer math to work. This is the part that is leaking handles (seen in Task Manager, below. Over 2 million handles and growing). The leak is only seen in LabVIEW and not when calling my API directly from C code (example code for the C example is also attached)

TaskMangler)

The VI that demonstrates the issue is quite simple.

Example VI

LabVIEW is moving the buffer returned from "Card Seq Blk Rd.vi" around and causing "Card Seq Find Next429Ex.vi" to fail. This is my first hint something is awry - I don't believe my buffer should move each time. I actually do some pointer math in my real API to fix this up but did not bother with this example. The issue is the same regardless of the fix-up.

The attached zip contains my example VI, as well as the C Source code for the API and a C Example using the API (that does not leak handles).

I'm sure I'm not grasping a relatively simple LabVIEW memory management concept here, but again mediocre so be gentle.

Regards and thanks in advance,

Brad

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 21
(3,441 Views)