From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Laser diode

I've a LabVIEW program written in order to generate a single pulse, based on the input values. I want to attach a laser diode (ITC 4005, Thorlabs) to the program and run it so that the shape of the pulse generated from the diode can be modified as per the program. So far, I've only managed to use an in-built example for the ITC 4000 series to control the laser diode (it goes into Remote mode). However, I want to connect the instrument to the program written previosuly so that the pulse shape can be manipulated when I run it. I also haven't been able to find a device driver on National Instruments page for the laser diode. I am relatively new to LabVIEW and would appreciate all the help possible. Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,664 Views)

Hi there,

Which in-built ITC 4000 example are you referring to? How does your laser diode communicate with the PC (Serial, GPIB, etc)?

Daniel C.
Applications Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(4,597 Views)

If it were me, I would use an Arbitrary Waveform Generator (Agilent 33220A for example) to generate your pulse.  There are probably some decent examples on this forum on creating different pulse shapes for it already.  Then, I would feed the output of the generator into the Modulation Input on the current source.  I use both ILX and Thor Labs current sources, but currently have a Thor Labs ITC502 on my desk and it has a Mod In bnc on the front panel.  I can't speak for other models since they aren't right in front of me.