From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview good practice and computation time

Hi guys!

I have two question for labview users. I'm quite new to this language, I would like to know if design like in the picture attached (extensive use of disable diagram structure) are:

• a good practice to separate part of code (I like the structure input/computation/output)
  • does not imply extra computation time

exemple_labview.png

Thanks in advance!

Etienne

PS: sorry I had to hide some code not my will...(licensed)

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,825 Views)

One of NI's big sales sayings was "Read, Analyze, Present".  It looks like you are just following that paradigm.  There is nothing wrong with that setup at all.

Now the diagram disable structures themselves could be disallowing optimizations that the compiler can do.  If you really want to split things up, use subVIs.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,810 Views)

A Disable structure is generelly used to _disable_ code, such as testing out versions or optimizing functions without throwing away the old code.

If you just want to mark the code, it'd be better to use a Decoration. Better yet is, as already mentioned, a SubVI, which'll automatically group and mark the code.

/Y

G# - Award winning reference based OOP for LV, for free! - Qestit VIPM GitHub

Qestit Systems
Certified-LabVIEW-Developer
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(3,806 Views)