LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview executable only works for about ten seconds before shutting down

Hi,

I'm not a newbie to LabVIEW but I am a newbie to creating executables and installers using LV. On my first attempts I'm having a strange problem that I cannot resolve. I already began discussing this problem on another thread, but I was advised to start a new one.

I've made a variety of VI's but for debugging purposes I made the simplest VI possible: just some plain text on the front panel, no code on the block diagram.
I created a project with just that VI, compiled an executable, compiled an installer, and sent the installation files to my colleague. I use a Win XP machine and so does he. He does not have LV installed.

The installation goes fine, the VI starts up, appears to run fine and then spontaneously quits (i.e. the window closes and disappears) after twelve seconds with no error message.This happens even if I create a VI with a loop. The VI executable, installed via the installer on my WinXP PC (which has the full LV application) does not replicate this problem. It occurs only on a WinXP machine where LV is not installed.

version info: LabVIEW 2010

My debugging ideas going forward are:
- try to play with the "Source File Settings --> Use default save settings" checkboxes, as suggested by another user in another thread.
- ask another colleague with WinXP and no LV to test the VI's, to see if the problem is somehow linked with my first colleague's machine.

- to check the Windows Event Log (following the advice of user Norbert on this forum), but I'm not sure if I'll be able to decipher what I read in there. A first look has turned up nothing interesting.
- am pretty stuck for ideas after that.

Thanking you in advance for any input you can give,

Garrett

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,258 Views)

Attach your VI so we can see what you are doing.