From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview 8.6 Webcam to control a puppet

Hi guys.

I'm really new to Labview 8.6 and seem to always get confused with the many modules Labview has.

For my assignement, I'm required to control a puppet by the movement of my body.

The idea I have in my head would be:-

Webcam uses edge detection and filters out everything except my body's silouette.

When I move my right hand 45 Degrees upwards, the puppet follows. The puppet's hand is attached to a servo-motor by a string which spins to either give more length thus lowering the arm and vice versa.

Labview is required to send out binary to the PIC which controls the servo-motors.

I'm having a delima right now because I'm not sure if I should be using Labview VI for this or NI Vision Assistant or NI Vision. I'm really new to labview and I'm not getting much help from seniors and lecturers. Lecturers in my college has never used Labview and seniors all used Mathlab for Image Processing

It would be nice if somebody could point me in the right direction and/or give me tutorials relating to my assignment.Suggestions are most welcomed. 🙂

Thank you.

-Wolf

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,068 Views)

Using LabVIEW would be best since you are not only doing image processing but also communicating with the PIC. 

In order to use the webcam, you will need to use the NI-IMAQ for USB Cameras driver. This software will allow you to configure any DirectShow imaging device and acquire images into LabVIEW.