LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW to control simoultaneously a camera and luxmeter (Minolta T-10A)

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone

I'm totally new in the use of data acquisition software, but I found out I can use LabView to obtain continuous measurements (15-min intervals during 1 month or maybe more), the thing is that I need to obtain simoultanously images (Canon camera EOS) and Illuminance (lux) device: Minolta T-10A series multisensor T-10MA. My question is which LabVIEW software do I need to buy (or my institution actually) in order to get this. I've looking at the LabVIEW software options and cannot figure it out which one is needed. Afterwards I guess I need controllers for each of the devices (minolta and canon). Can you please advise me if this is possible and how to do it. I'd really appreciate it.

Steph.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(4,029 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author cygnart

You need the following:  Full LabVIEW, all the Device Drivers (including DAQmx and the Vision drivers), and the Vision Acquisition Software package.  

The Minolta luxometer has a USB connector for a PC, and has some communication software (which I haven't inspected) that, I would guess, would enable you to take readings.  There's a comment about current draw if the USB cable is connected -- I didn't check if there is a power connector on the luxometer (since you'll need to leave it connected for a month, same issue with the Camera).  As far as the Camera is concerned, I have no idea if this is controllable from a PC -- my experience has been with video cameras (in the 640 x 480 pixel size), which definitely are LabVIEW-controllable.

As for taking simultaneous readings, this is something LabVIEW does quite nicely.  I would advise you to consult with a Professional if this is something other than a school project, maybe even hire someone for a few week's work.

Bob Schor

Message 2 of 5
(4,002 Views)