From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW program on tablet/phone

Hi I already have a LabVIEW program which communicates with hardware (charge controller & EV prototype) using ethernet through cRIO and NI I/O modules. I have 2 queries.

1) Is it possible to use the program on a Tablet/ phone? What other options do i have besides Data Dashboard for LabVIEW? Is Dashboard only for visualising the indicators or for control as well?

2) Could the communication between the P.C. and hardware be done using WiFi instead of ethernet? How? 

I'm a newbie so can you explain a bit in detail?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,531 Views)

1. No, the data dashboard is the only choice right now as far as I know (If I remember correctly Dashboard should be able to use controls). The best would be to write an application that sends commands via TCP/IP connection using the native development enviroment of the tablet/mobile phone (C? Java?)

2. Yes. The only problem might be with configuration of the WiFi equipment. How? - this depends on the connection of the equipment (draw it)

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,480 Views)

You can write code to do this in many ways but NI has the Remote Panel done for you: http://www.ni.com/white-paper/4791/en/

The Dashboard can now control your VI remotely as well:  http://www.ni.com/mobile/

I'm not sure about WiFi.  It's usually used to connect portable hardware to the net rather than to each other.  Bluetooth is certainly an option and LabVIEW has a palette of VIs that will help you:  Data Communications > Protocols > BT.  The Remote Panel or Dashboard will be your easier options though. Smiley Wink