cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW and CAN getting started programming

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi!

I am new to CAN and LabVIEW communication. I am trying to write and read a message from a CAN bus. I have LabVIEW 2015 SPI. I was reading through the NI-CAN Hardware and Software Manual and in chapter 7 Channel API for Labview (pg 128) and it said to use some blocks that are not available to me. I was wondering where I could find these blocks and if thereare any resources out there for just starting out with CAN communication.   

Here is the link for the CAN Hardware and Software: http://www.ni.com/pdf/manuals/370289k.pdf

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(5,093 Views)

Which CAN hardware are you using? That will determine the appropriate driver for you to download and install. NI-CAN is the older driver but still used for the USB CAN modules. Newer hardware uses X-NET. To get the NI-CAN functions mentioned in the linked manual, you need to install NI-CAN, which is available on the NI website and might also be on the drivers disk that comes with LabVIEW.

Message 2 of 4
(5,053 Views)

Hi!

I ordered the NI USB-8473s, it's the high-speed CAN, USB interface with synchronization, I have yet to receive it and I was hoping to get so coding done before it gets here. Is the manual I linked is that the correct manual to look at for this CAN device? 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 4
(5,018 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author mkapler1