From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW Modbus TCP with VFD. Cannot establish connection / Error 56?? Any thoughts?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am trying to establish connection to a VFD (Variable frequency drive) for university research testing purposes. My set up consists of:

---> LabVIEW (Master)

---> ABB ACS880 VFD (Slave) with FENA-01 Fieldbus Adapter

---> (ABB induction Motor)

---> (Internal Combustion engine)

First of all, I am new to the Modbus TCP protocol but I have gone through all the whitepapers by NI, I have read and followed all the instructions from both the manual of the VFD and the manual of the FENA-01 Fieldbus adapter. I am also fairly new to LabVIEW but I am confident I have the knowledge to create the VI needed.

I have created a simple VI that would be able to read a couple of registers from the VFD, which is attached below. The VFD is connected via Ethernet to the local ethernet network and the PC Master is connected to the same network. When I run the VI, error 56 appears, which as I have read from the other forum posts is about not getting any response within the given time period.

Things I have tried:

--> Checking all the cables are connected properly

--> Double checking the manuals

--> Checking the FENA-01 in the chasis, which gives indication of awaiting modbus request

--> Checking for any Gateway IP address but I did not find any,  so I expected I did not need to add it to the VFD parameters

--> Refreshing FENA-01 parameters which always results to "Offline" status