cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW: Identification Query Failed

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi All

I am new to LabVIEW and the whole instrument interfacing topic.

First, I am trying to connect my HP8110A Pulse Generator to my computer using GPIB/USB interface (Agilent 82357B), and I have NI-VISA (5.4) and Agilent VISA all installed respectively. I have NI-488.2 (3.1.2) installed as well.

When I connect all machines together, I can find my GPIB and Instrument on both MAX and IO config, and on LabVIEW I can find the Alias for my insturment in the drop down menu. I assume this suggests that they are well connected.

What I still doubt is that when I connect my insturment and find on MAX then I try to find the Instrument Driver for LabVIEW, I can see my instrument under connected Instruments> HEWLWTT-PACKARD

When I click to install it, I cannot find it (actually it does not allow me to proceed to Search because it cannot identify the manufacturer).

So what I did, is I installed Agilent 81110 instead as I can see it supports HP8110A model. Is this wrong to do?

Other than that, when I run VISA  Test Panel on the instrument, I get an error when I try to read and this the error message: Timeout expired before operation completed.

I tried changing the timeout and bytes to read settings, but still nothing changes.

Finally, on IO config when I try to enable Agilent 488, I get a window asking me to reboot thr computetr and try again. I did that and still had the same thing.

Can you please help me with all these problems, and tell me if they are related?

Regards

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(11,096 Views)

When using Agilient GPIB controllers with NI Products (Like LabVIEW) NI-VISA must be installed as the primary VISA. and enable the "tulip" passport   Agilient's IO interactive control will override this setting (Requiring a reboot to do so).

From MAX select Tools> NI VISA> VISA Options