LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Iterating while loops while event structure is timed out

Hi all,

I am trying to implement an event based program into a data processing program.  I am new to event programming and this part of the project was only made possible by help from this list, but I am back for more.

In the attached VI (PTCS....), the event portion of the program works as needed, however I assumed in putting it together that the while loop would iterate all of the time.  Because I used the timeout function of the event structure, the timeout actually freezes the entire while loop and I can't acquire data unless I repeatedly toggle the toggle button (the random number generators are really DAQ devices). 

I have also attached a similar program on which this idea was based (while loop event structer.vi).  Here, the state machine is in the toggle event, not the timeout event.  Is this the only approach that will work?  I am thinking that I have to remove the state machine from the time out case, but I am wondering if simply adding another state would be possible and easier...Thus far placing the state machine in the Toggle Trap: Change value case does not produce the desired results (in PTCS...) as in the attached simple VI. 

Both VI's are attached in  LV 7.1 only
Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,098 Views)
You are close. Put the event structures in a separate loop. The DAQ (or simulation) runs in a parallel loop. The loops exchange data and commands via queues.

As your programs are written the loops can only iterate once for each time the event structure executes -- This is basic dataflow programming. So when you have the timeout sett to -1, the loops will wait forever for an event.

Lynn
Message 2 of 10
(3,093 Views)