LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Invalid suffix

HI, I am new to Labview and I am tasked by my teacher to write a program to control instruments, I done a program and when I test it, the first error that pops up on the screen of the instrument is "Invalid Suffix". Anyone know what does this mean?
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,840 Views)
Please more info and a screenshot of your block diagramm.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,829 Views)

emo-

It would help a LOT if you told us what specific instrument you were trying to communicate with.  Even better- post a link to the user's guide for the instrument.  BEST YET- read the user's guide for the instrument.(to answer your question we will need to read the manual so, why shouldn't you read it too?)

"Should be" isn't "Is" -Jay
Message 3 of 9
(3,816 Views)

labview program.GIF

well, this is the program using the building blocks the NI provided for the instrument and attached is the manual. Thx.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(3,779 Views)

oops, realized the image can't quite be seen. Hopefully this is better.

labview program.GIF

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 9
(3,777 Views)

In all likelyhood one of those VIs has a bug in it that was never caught. The error you are getting is a consequence of reading the error queue at the end of the command string. The instrument is telling you it received a command with an incorrect suffix. You will need to find out which one it is. The best way to do this is by a process of elimination. Use only half of the VIs and see if the error query returns an error. If not, it has to lie in the other half. Then, do the same thing (take half) with the half that has the error. Eventually you will find the VI that has the problem. Then you can look at the code to see whether it needs to be further dissected or whether you can spot the error by looking at how the commands are created.