From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interfacing with an RS-485 instrument

Hi All,

Having completed my first project in Labview I have another but I'm not sure where to start.  I have a mass flow controller which has an RS-485 communications protocol.  In the past I have used some old propietry software and a  RS-485/USB converter to control the controller and read it's output.  However, the software no longer works on the new platforms and I would like to use Labview to interface with the controllers.  The problem is, I am new to the world of instrument communications and don't know where to start.

My initial questions are:

• Can I use the USB converter to plug into the computer and then use the VISA USB functions to access the data?
  • Or, should I be using the VISA Serial vi's?

I have a couple of good books and of course the vast resources of the internet but it would be great to get some pointers in the correct direction.

I look forward to some responses.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,157 Views)

Hi doljam,

after installing this USB-RS485 stick you should have an additional COM port available. From LabVIEW you use the VISA Serial functions to communicate over COM ports…

I am new to the world of instrument communications and don't know where to start.

To start communication with your device you should read it's manual. THere you will find all information needed (commands, expected responses)!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,153 Views)

Hi and thanks for the response.

By checking my device, would you mean the USB-485 device or the device that this is going to be connected to.

Many thanks

0 Kudos