cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Installer Build Errors NI_MDF.lvlib:MDFCommon_Open.vi

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello:

I can build applications but I cannot create an installer for them.  Not even for the simplest test VIs.  Below are the errors I receive:

CDK_Build_Invoke.vi.ProxyCaller >>

CDK_Build_Invoke.vi >> CDK_Engine_Main.vi >>

CDK_Engine_PreBuild.vi >>

CDK_Validate_DistParts.vi >>

CDK_DistParts_GetInstalledProducts.vi >>

NI_MDF.lvlib:MDFCommon_Open.vi

The Details are:

Visit the Request Support page at ni.com/ask to learn more about resolving this problem. Use the following information as a reference:

However,  there is no "following information" in the Details.

My platform is Win XP-SP3.

I am using LabVIEW 2009 BASIC SP-1 f3.

I've never had any problems building Applications and Installers with LabVIEW 8.6 Professional DSC or LabVIEW 2009 FULL SP-1 f3 or LabVIEW 2011 FULL.  I've been doing this successfully for many years.

This failure to create an installer holds true for LabVIEW 2009 BASIC SP-1 f3 installations on two (2) completely different XP-SP3 machines!

MDFCommon_Open.vi IS installed on my machine in the NI_MDF.lvlib at C:\Program Files\National Instruments\LabVIEW 2009\applibs\distkit\MDF

Does LabVIEW BASIC need a plug-in to create installers?

Does a NI engineer or another party have any suggestions?  I've searched NI for answers but have found none that work.

Yes, I've made sure .NET is current and also tried with adding exceptions and AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2013 turned off and the Windows firewall disabled.  My Windows XP installation is also completely current.

Warm Regards,

Saturn233207

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,895 Views)

Oh, one more thing:

I installed a trial version of LabVIEW 2012 on both of the machines and this has expired.

Could this be the or part of the problem?

Warm Regards,

Saturn 233207

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(3,890 Views)