From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inserting multiple strings into a 1D array

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I'm a recent beginner to LabVIEW, so take it easy on me. I've been trying to do this for far too long and i figured I'd give the forums a shot. I'm trying to take a 2D array of strings and input them into a 1D array. Sounds simple enough, but for some reason i just can't get it. The array then feeds into a text ring. So for example, say i have an array of dimensions 4x2 [a b c d, e f g h], the output i want is a 1x2 array [abcd, efgh]. However the array could be 4x4 or 4x6, so its not fixed. The text ring lets the user select from the options (2 in this case).

Hopefully I've outlined my problem clear enough for people. Taking the strings from the 2D array and putting them in one string is as close as I've gotten to what i want. I also tried the array to spreadsheet string, but it just gave me one long string. Unless there is something blatantly obvious that i am missing, could someone give me any tips? Also, I'd just like to add that anyone telling me to go read the tutorials, source material etc. I have, trust me. Thoroughly.

I included a picture of the section of code that i am trying to get working. And yes i realize that it won't input anything to the text ring at the moment, that is currently just how i have it saved.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(5,214 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author StavA

Replace the while loop with a For Loop.

Don't use Array Subset, just use auto-indexing tunnels.

Use concatenate strings on your 1-D array and you'll have a single string.

Use auto-indexing tunnels on the output and you'll have a 1-D array of those strings.