LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Importing shared variable (DLL) with simple function

So I'm attempting to use a DLL I was givven to do something simple.

string input--> DLL --> three string output.

The .h file defines the function like so:

struct FunctionName {
char str1[5];
char str2[4];
char str3[2];
};

It sems that the wizard is having an issue creating the datatype defined as the struct (which consists of three strings of length (5, 4, and 2).  I've read that sometimes you can go thru the wizard again and create a ctl, but when I did this the function wrapper vi dissapeared form the library it creates...

I'm by no means a C programmer, and dont really remember much of it from school at all.

I'm looking into this here: https://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-9080  thinking the answer might lie somewhere in the "adapt to type" selection (but this only seems available on the functions input?

Thanks for any advice/suggestions

-pat

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,894 Views)

You've only shown the definition of a structure, not of a function. Can you provide the prototype for the function that uses that structure? Does the function expect three separate strings as parameters, or a struct containing three character arrays?