LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Import CSV File, is this the best way?

I am developing a batching process that imports a CSV file and uses it as the recipe.  I am fairly new to labview but I managed to get the attached VI to work after cutting and pasting from a few VI's.  Is there a better way to accomplish this and what is the best way to access the individual ingredients in my sequence?
Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,995 Views)
As it is the VI does not handle more than one line, so this approach won't work. However, all you really need to do is to change the delimiter at the "SpreadSheet String to Array" to a newline character so you get all the lines. Then, you need to feed that array into a for-loop that does what you're doing at the bottom for each line. You will probably want to package all that up into a nice bundle so you get an array of clusters so you can easily access your elements. See attached modification.

If you can establish some rules regarding the line format you may be able to get away with using the "Scan From String" function.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,967 Views)
I am trying to do a similar thing. Using csv files for recipes. I am stuck on one aspect. I want to have a sub-Vi that will allow for editing the recipe file. I am using the spreadsheet-to-array vi and then displaying the result in an array indicator. I would like to allow the user to edit the values in the array and then save it to a file, but since the array is presented in an indicator, how do I "collect" the changes made to the text, so I can get them saved to a file? Probably simple, but I am a newbie.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(3,955 Views)