LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Implementing high-throughput, multi-input FXP maths on an FPGA

I'm a bit of a novice with LabVIEW FPGA programming, especially when it comes to the effective use of SCTLs. I was hoping for some pointers when implementing handshaking with the multi-input high-throughput FXP functions (such as add, multiply etc.).

The online help I've seen (http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/371599K-01/lvfpgaconcepts/fpga_handshaking/ ) doesn't show any multi-input maths and the example to which they link doesn't have any hand-shaking code. So I had to forge ahead blindly.

My first naïve attempt was to do something like the following:

FpgaMultiply.png

(ignore the dodgy FIFO, that's just for example I/O).

The problem is: this code will fall down if one of the inputs is valid while the other isn't. We'll lose the valid data, and only be able to perform a calculation if both inputs happen to be valid simultaneously. (I think this is difficult to guarantee if the input data come from different sources, e.g. maybe the host and over p2p).

The new linear algebra palette solves this problem by having separate handshaking for each input.

FpgaMatrix.png

I guess we need to implement something analogous for the simple multiply? As below.

FpgaMiFxp.png

This middleman needs to hang-on to valid data in either input, outputting only when both inputs have been valid. It should only ask for input if it is not already storing valid data from that output. Here is my attempt at coding this (also see attached).

MultiInputFXP.png

Obviously, there are plenty of problems with my implementation – primarily, the introduction of latency and complexity to the FPGA.

I suspect others must have run into this issue, and so I’m sure there are better solutions. Does anyone know of any, or have advice on how to improve on my attempt?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,491 Views)