LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IDF with IMAQ?

Hi, I am a graduate student using the department's copy (site liscensed I am told) of IMAQ vision for Labview (we are using IMAQ 7 with Labview 6).

My labview skills are primitive but I managed to make some image processing software for my research project (blob analysis sort of thing).

In my project I collect images from a microscope camera wherein each image is taken when the objective of the scope is at a slightly different distance from the specimine, thus working like a confocal scope, except we are looking at darkfeild plan view with reflected light. The 'stacks' of images number between 60 and 120, of them all but 1 to 5 are through away images (nothing to see ... reason being that the objects we are looking at change size over the course of the experiment and only by rastoring the focal plane so dramatically (@~2 microns/step) do we always maintain at least some of the object in focus overnight). Of the 1 to 5 images that remain that show anything of interest, I usually just choose 1 with the best focus of the object; however, there are instances when the objects features are captured in focus over 2 to several images (ie. each image has a bit in focus). I have played with software from Alicona that is called IDF (infinite depth of field) wherein you take a stack of such images each with a bit of an object in focus and the Alicona software makes a single image that is completely in focus. The Alicona software doesn't work very well, and I wish I could tweak it like I can my blob analysis software composed in labview using IMAQ vision. Therefore, I would like to make such an app using labview and IMAQ vision, one that will both automatically scrub the images that are of no use (nothing in focus) and then combine the remaining images into a single image that shows all of the objects in the field in focus.

Please help.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,698 Views)