LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I have to reconnect to my DAQ device every time I start my computer... Why?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, I am Ricky, a process engineer intern at a company. I am still a novice at LabVIEW and NI MAX. We have one cDAQ9181 set up to pneumatics and another set up to an encoder. Now, every time I start my computer the pneumatics box is already connected, as expected. However, the encoder one is not. When I click on it in the sidebar, it is found and connects, but the encoder itself does not connect until I perform a self-test. These devices have stayed plugged in and connected overnight, and yield no other issues -- they should be connected as soon as the computer is on. Does anyone know what is going on and/or how to solve this? I can try to provide a picture if necessary.

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to offer some valued help! -Ricky

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,597 Views)

Have you tried adding a programmatic self-test to your code?  If you do this, it should self-test the device when the code starts and keep you from taking this extra step.  Otherwise, you generally want to start your computer before you start your cDAQ.  Either of these options should get around the issue you're seeing.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,580 Views)

USB?  You might want to check your USB power settings.  By default, Windows likes to enable a power saving feature where it will turn off the USB hub power.  This has caused a lot of problems with people using USB DAQ for long tests.  But you can disable this feature by going into the Windows device manager and going into the USB hub settings.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 3 of 10
(4,569 Views)