LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to write spreadsheet files of data from NI OPC

Hi Everyone,

I am new to lab view and want to start by completing my application. I have some tags in my NI OPC server. SOme of these tags are to be saved in spreadsheet file for analysis with ms timestamps. SInce the tags from OPC only contains samples , I have to generate the timestamps from system PC.

Can anyone guide me from where should I start.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,235 Views)

Hi falcon,

when you are new to LabVIEW you should take all those free online courses offered by NI on their website. They are for FREE!

I have to generate the timestamps from system PC. Can anyone guide me from where should I start.

Well, I would start looking at the functions in the "timing functions" palette…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 9
(3,220 Views)

By "spreadsheet file", do you mean a file with the .xls or .xlsx extension, or a text file written to "look like" a spreadsheet, such as a .csv file?  

I also second Gerd's recommendation to learn the basics with the Online courses, and to do some code development and testing yourself first.  Note that a good way to learn how LabVIEW does things (such as TimeStamps) is to write a tiny LabVIEW VI that simply has the function in question "inside", with controls wired to the input and indicators wired to the output.  You then put test values on the Input Controls, press Run, and see what (all of) the Outputs say.

BS

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(3,202 Views)

Hi GerdW,

Thanks for d reply. My main challenge is that I have been able to data bind the field from OPC tag, but how to create a dynamic 1 D array.

I praciced some normal programs on loops and i now understand that I have to build a 2 D array , one consisting data and one consisiting of time stamps.