From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use a counter to build a Logic Analyzer?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi guys, i have heard that we can use a counter as a Logic Analyzer based on an incoming signal and its clock frequency. Anyone know how this works?

I am trying to read a set of signals, which I have no knowledge of  except that there would a Clock, reset and a data line; and I want to develop a Logic Analyzer to 'know' these signals.

Thanks, Anoop

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(2,779 Views)

Hi Anoop,

i have heard

Maybe you should ask that guy that told you all about Logic Analyzers created from counters?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 18
(2,772 Views)

Hi Gerd,

I would ask him, but he seemed to think that I am better off trying to get help professionally, which I cannot do.

I posted this here to see if someone could be of help, I am a beginner and digital timing especially is not my strong point.

Thanks for your reply.

Anoop

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 18
(2,769 Views)

Hi Anoop,

I don't see where you are coming from here. The counter could be for several purposes in a logic analyzer. It could be used to generate a timing source, detect the frequency of an incoming clock line, or be used as hardware-based delay logic. Either way, I do not believe you can use counters alone to create a logic analyzer. You are better off just doing whole port reads from a digital input port at specified intervals. Frequency and jitter constraints will decide on the timing method you need to use (eg software or hardware), and may limit you to using an FPGA system, transferring data back over a DMA FIFO to your host machine.