From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to turn controls to indicators programically?

I'm fairly new to LabView's capabilities outside of data acquisition. I did a little search, but it didn't really come up with anything.

I want to be able to change the status (hidden/visible, enabled/disabled, captions, labels) based upon some input.

Examples to this sort of behavior:
* Changing the color on a colorbox based upon some other value (e.g., green if x<5, yellow if 6<x<9, and red if x>9).
* After setting up configuration, once the program starts doing its thing, have the first step be to gray & disable the controls.
* While the program goes through a complex task, have a caption bar that indicates what step it's at (e.g., configuring, taking measurements, analyzing data, writing reports).
* Alter available options based upon previously selected information. For instance, you could opt to take a new set of measurements (which may have a button to initate the configuration routine), or you could opt to start from a measurement log (which would have a file path control).

I know how to do those sorts of things in something like VB, but not LabView.

Anyone help would be most appreciated.

(Oh, and I do have LV6.0 right now; I'm in the process of upgrading to 8.2, but that'll take a bit o time...)

Message Edited by krasing on 09-06-2006 04:15 PM

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,305 Views)