From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to transfer the image processing steps from subVI to its Main VI front panel image control?

Hello Folks,

I am working on an Image Processing application using LabView 8.0 and this is my first attempt to write big program. I had written a SubVI to process the images and can see each process step (i.e. gray, binary) on its front panel, when I ran it independenly. Now I am trying to use this SubVI into main application, but not been able to see any thing on the MainVI front panel image ctl. Can anyone suggest, how I can do this. Thanks in advance.

Manu
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 20
(4,118 Views)
Hi Manu,

More info would be helpful. Perhaps attach your vi's in question or a least of pic.

That being said if I understand the situation you could make references to your front panel controls that you want to update and pass these refs down to your sub vi.  Then you should then write new values to these refs in your sub vi and this will update the higher level vi.

Hope this helps.

--Russ
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 20
(4,107 Views)

Hello Russ,

Thanks for your reply. I will try to express better this time.

MainVI :  Main App1.vi

SubVI :  Dome Curvature.vi

Refer the enclosed pic file (jpg), which shows the subVI in foreground and MainVI in background. The subVI is doing all the image processing and with every step (i.e. cases in block diagram) and displays the output on its front panel. I am using the pallet property node in every case to reflect the changes to image on its front panel image indicator. The subVI is working fine.