From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to save array from text file input

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, I'm very new to LabVIEW, so apologies if I use the wrong terminology.

I have made a VI that reads 25 text files into a 3D array.  When I click run I need to select the 25 text files.  Is there a way I can save the data imported for later calculations without having to select the files every time?

Here is what I've got:

Capture.PNG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,527 Views)
Yes there is... In fact, there are many, many ways...

I could rattle off a bunch of techniques, but if you are the newbie that you say you are the list would be largely meaningless. It will be more useful to you to start at the beginning:

What are you trying to do? How will the data be used? How big are the datasets? What do you need to do with the results of your processing? Where are the files located? How are the different datasets identified?

And about you: What skills do you already have? What have you done before?

Mike...

Certified Professional Instructor
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion

"... after all, He's not a tame lion..."

For help with grief and grieving.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,507 Views)

I'm making a PV solar assessment tool, whereby the user enters their system information (in this case, Zone in UK, panel inclination, and panel orientation).  I need their entry to index this 3D array to find a value for later calculations.  The zone corresponds to what I would call the 'sheet' of values (3rd dimension), the orientation corresponds to the column number, and the inclination the row number.