LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to read from a file line by line

Hi

I am new to using LabView and was wondering how I could read data from a text file one line at a time and display this data one line at a time as well. I tried looking through the Reading from Text File . vi example but that just seems to be reading and displaying everything together.

Thanks
-Karan
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(31,095 Views)
Hi Karan,

I'd not done this before myself.  But I thought I'd have a quick crack at it to see what I could come up with.

This VI isn't complete.  But it should give you some ideas. 

My guess is that you wanted to split your existing text file into one line text files and maybe do something with them after.  The first screenshot should give you some ideas there. 

If all you want to do is display them, the second shot does that. 

Message Edited by pallen on 02-18-2007 07:14 PM

---------------------
Patrick Allen: FunctionalityUnlimited.ca
Download All
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(31,080 Views)
1... Use FILE I/O - ADVANCED - OPEN FILE, with the path to your file as an input.

2... Use FILE I/O - ADVANCED - EOF to get the EOF of the file.

3... Enter a WHILE LOOP.

4... Within the loop, Use FILE I/O - READ FILE, with the refnum as an input, and wired LINE MODE to a TRUE constant.

5... Display the string out of READ FILE.

6... Wait a while, just for visual effect, if you want to.

7... Compare the OFFSET out of the READ FILE to the EOF from step 2.

8... If OFFSET is >= EOF, terminate the loop.

9... Close the file.

Message Edited by CoastalMaineBird on 02-18-2007 06:18 PM

Steve Bird
Culverson Software - Elegant software that is a pleasure to use.
Culverson.com

Blog for (mostly LabVIEW) programmers: Tips And Tricks

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(31,082 Views)

Hi