From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to read data from measurement file using express VI continuously?

Hye there, i have been asked by my lecturer to read the data from measurement file which the format is .lvm. However when i run the simulation, the data given out is not continuosly. It's just a simple block diagram i used. When i put while loop it just come out as an error after a while. here is the screenshot of my work. Btw, im sorry. Im newbie here,making effort for my final year project. 

Do help me brothers and sisters.

Fatin 🙂

2015-06-29 22_46_33-DR.vi Block Diagram _.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(3,977 Views)

If you would, including a snippet of the code instead of a screenshot would allow us to see how your express VI is configured.

I believe you can't read from the same file more than once within a single run of the code (using the express VI). So you putting that in a While loop is causing the error in the second iteration. There is a pointer that the code keeps to know where it should read data from. When it loops the first time, it reads the entire file and then leaves the pointer at the end of the file. When it loops again, the pointer is at the end of the file and can't see any more data to read. You should only need to run this express VI once, anyways, because it will output all of the data from the file the first loop.

Cheers

--------,       Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines                                           ,--------

'---   >The shortest distance between two nodes is a straight wire>   ---'

Message 2 of 16
(3,970 Views)

yes. Thanks Mr. James. So this is my file.

Fatin 🙂

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(3,950 Views)